Thursday, November 18, 2010

HE IS WE @ The Troubadour

Trevor Kelly and Rachel Taylor of HE IS WE perform at The Troubadour
Trevor Kelly and Rachel Taylor of HE IS WE perform at The Troubadour.
photo by picksysticks

In their first full U.S. tour, He Is We hobbled into Los Angeles this past Monday. Battling fatigue and pneumonia, lead singer, Rachel Taylor, sang a shortened show, singing a doctor prescribed five-song set at The Troubadour. The Tacoma duo, enduring the two month trek across the country supporting Rocket Summer, is set to release their debut album, My Forever, November 23rd from Universal Motown and FrameworkNY. There must be something about Los Angeles, specifically The Troubadour. You see, in July, He Is We again had to cancel a few shows, including The Troubadour, due to emergency health reasons. We forgive and we're happy they came back around and Rachel, like the super trooper that she is, definitely gave it her best.

Comprised of Rachel and Trevor Kelly, fans flocked to He Is We's wholesome music through word-of-mouth. Their songs, filled with infectious melodies and inspired lyrics made their demo's highly sought after and in 2009, they were named PureVolume's #1 unsigned band. Not bad. Even with a shortened set, He Is We showcased what made them so popular among fans and critics, playing a spirited and powerful acoustic set with Rachel's vulnerable vocals rising towards the bleachers above on fan favorites like "Blame it on the Rain," and "Happily Ever After." In the end, it was hard to see if He Is We left an impression on the crowd, mostly on hand to watch headliner Rocket Summer's Bryce Avary. Impressed and pleased, though, were the entourage of record label suits, praising Trevor and the obviously exhausted Rachel after the show. Be sure to get their debut album, My Forever, which is out digitally November 23rd.

Setlist: Blame It on the Rain / All About Us / I Wouldn't Mind / Forever and Ever / Happily Ever After.

Anyways, I couldn't find any good live vids of He Is We but I found these. These are two of my favorite songs from He Is We. Enjoy!!

He Is We's debut album, "My Forever" available digitally November 23rd.

1. Forever And Ever
2. All About Us (featuring Aaron Gillespie)
3. Everything You Do
4. And Run
5. Happily Ever After
6. Kiss It Better
7. Prove You Wrong
8. Blame It On The Rain
9. Love Life
10. Fall